Goldfish

img_20160626_110n510

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me lately. I’m stuck in some sort of funk and it’s been hard to get out of it. For the past few months I was unable to draw or paint. My head is full of ideas, but putting those ideas on paper proved to be difficult. I’d start on a project but quickly lose interest, so now I have a folder full of half finished drawings and sketches.

I miss art though. I miss how much joy it used to give me. So yesterday I decided to try again and ease myself back into painting by going “back to basics”. Thus, I’ve painted a goldfish, which was one of the first things I ever painted (see the “old” goldfish here). The painting itself is very tiny, about the size of my hand (and I have very small hands), and painted with acrylics on a wooden floor panel. I can’t say it’s the best thing I ever painted, but it’s a start.

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Goldfish

  1. migueltio says:

    Biggest hugs!! You did a beautiful job!!

  2. Mary says:

    Hey Jess great to see you. I totally understand as I’ve had a bit of a challenge like you as well – eventually you get out of the rut. Just as you did here, I love your painting – good for you!

  3. sedge808 says:

    so very beautiful.

  4. jane tims says:

    I liked seeing the earlier version. This recent goldfish is the best. Thank you for describing the size of the painting.

  5. domnakis says:

    Jess it looks wonderful I love the medium and bright colours you used! You should do it more often, miss looking at your beautiful creations! Huge hug x

  6. I understand. Past few months very few cartoon ideas have come. Of course there is the matter of personal challenges I’ve had to face.

  7. isabellaesthermariarose says:

    Beautiful colours and a great start to your new beginnings. I’ve been there, Jess, and I well know how it feels. Well done for getting up again.

Leave a Reply

