Void

void0.jpg

Do you ever feel “empty”? Like there is a massive hole in your chest that nothing can fill? I sometimes do. It’s such a strange feeling, that I can’t even properly describe it in words.

So, I’ve decided to illustrate it instead.

I’ve actually used images of Superman as my “chest” reference. 😉 The void itself is painted in watercolors. The rest is pencils and some chalk pastels. I’m quite happy with the result, especially since I never really draw such portraits-usually it’s just the face.

Tagged , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Void

  1. Marianne says:

    Wowza! What a powerful image. Beautiful work.

  2. domnakis says:

    Awww it looks wonderful!Love the colours you used and how you left the rest in pencil and chalk. And since I know you, I would say that what I see is not emptiness, but a beautiful world, limitless like the universe! Kisses from BCN

  3. Ah, Jess, this particular void looks beautifully colorful!!! 🙂

  4. Gemma K. says:

    I love your art Jess! Good job!

  5. samcrowart says:

    ooooooooooo Jess, this is so so wonderful!!! my absolute favourite so far !!!

  6. Mary says:

    Beautiful Jess – very expressive. Yes, sometimes I can relate.

  7. I like this. You draw hands very well.

  8. Wow! Wonderfully expressive, well conceived and beautifully rendered!

  9. It seems a contradiction that the void is colorful but rest black and white. Made me think the void is outside the body, not inside.

  10. violetski says:

    Love This painting dear Jess! Really beautiful❤️

  11. olookabird says:

    It’s simply lovely! I love it! Wonderful job!

    I would be very pleased if you were to visit my blog and let me know what you think of my work!

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

